top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmma Hudson

Connection Driven By Fan Narratives: Stories of BTS ARMY

Furthering research on BTS ARMY's autoethnographies "BTS came into my life when I needed them most..."



BTS ARMY is one of the most powerful fandoms to date. The power of the fandom can be analyzed from social media data, along with BTS's Billboard Top Social Artist consecutive wins and record-breaking social media numbers, but there are arguably more insights beyond numbers. The potential list for further research on BTS ARMY can start with how and why someone becomes a fan of BTS. Does the how and why serve as a powerful connection amongst fans?


Outsiders, and even insiders, of the fandom may wonder what drives people to BTS and what makes the fandom so powerful. Insiders of the fandom may already have a list of answers based on personal experience. Each ARMY has their own story of how they came across the globally recognized boy band.


What type of research would this be?


These types of personal stories can be categorized as autoethnographies. Most researchers are familiar with the term ‘ethnography’. An ethnography is a qualitative research method, mainly seen in anthropology research, that involves analyzing the social relations practices and culture amongst a community. Similarly, an autoethnography is a qualitative study that can link to greater community insights, but offers an individualized lens in understanding how a person constructs stories of their experiences.


Why would autoethnographies be useful to study fans who identify as BTS ARMY?


Autoethnographies allow an introspective look into oneself. An ARMY can ask themselves what led them to BTS and why BTS became an important part of their lives. Outsiders of the fandom are unlikely to understand the vulnerabilities that lead people to find their escapism. BTS can be an ARMY's escape; however, when asking ARMYs why BTS is important to them, the answers will likely fall into meaningful categories and not just mere escapism.


During my undergraduate years at the University of Tennessee in Knoxville, I conducted autoethnography research on my story as a BTS ARMY for a project part of the rhetoric curriculum. My research focus was how I became a fan in 2017. Using George Lakoff's and Mark Johnson's "Metaphors We Live By", I found that through metaphor I could better articulate my fan experience to an audience who may not understand my reasons.


I have also given my straightforward narrative. The way I would tell it now may have minor differences, but it remains true to these core elements: I was a vulnerable college freshman and BTS motivated me to push out of my comfort zone. Autoethnographies are about admitting to one's insecurities that give significance to a person's story in how they manage to find hope despite difficult situations.


Does BTS ARMY autoethnography research already exist?


Autoethnography studies on BTS ARMY are not unfamiliar to the fandom. An edited collection of essays by Wallea Eaglehawk and Courtney Lazore titled "I Am ARMY: It's Time To Begin" is available on Amazon. The essays mainly come from contributors within academia who know how to meld research tools with the transparent autoethnographic standpoint.


While I have not had the chance to fully read the book myself, the preview pages showcase a similarity with research I did in 2019 on the "Stigma of Fangirls: A Case Study of BTS ARMY". The opening line is, "They say we find BTS when we need them most." From my undergrad research, I drew from journalist coverage to confirm the insider and outsider perspective on BTS ARMY. I found that insiders became ARMY due to the rhetorical situation that is BTS's key message of "Love Yourself" in their music, creating an emotional connection with soon-to-be-fans who need the "Love Yourself" message depending on personal circumstances.


The opening essay illustrates how fans' stories can be more complex than the stereotyping outsider versions along the lines of vain crushes. If there is a wish to be better understood by non-fans, it is necessary to uplift the complexities of being a fan while also not undermining the validity of expressing joy with a scream or two--meaning one must ask where feminism can exist in the fandom (which is addressed in the essay collection).


What route can further research take?


As a communications student, I believe autoethnographies are a great starting point to collect research that can help communicators get a holistic idea of why fandom matters. I would like to further the research I did from undergrad and update it with research from the social media purview.


The fandom has grown significantly as seen on social media. There are many sites where BTS ARMY resides: Twitter, Instagram, Weverse, YouTube, and more. There is significant potential in pooling a variety of ARMY and analyzing if the "BTS came into my life when I needed them most..." narrative can stand ground within quantitative research.


In upcoming blog posts, I plan to provide evidence in all the ways BTS ARMY is more than a fandom. BTS ARMY is made up of diverse individuals who come together in the name of BTS to take action whether it's as big as philanthropy and activism or starting off by finding a fellow ARMY who understands.


Feel free to contact me if you wish to share your story or connect on Twitter.


Komentar


bottom of page